ما هي القرنية المخروطية؟

Ramy Riad-Keratoconus

تتكون القرنية المخروطية نتيجة ترقق القرنية بصورة تدريجية ثم بروزها على شكل مخروطي بدلاً من شكل العين العادي، ويعيق شكل القرنية المشوّه الرؤية ويسبب حساسية من الضوء ورؤية ضبابية، وعادة ما تحدث هذه الحالة في كلتا العينين وتظهر في أعمار تتراوح بين 10 و 25 ولكن يسهل علاجها بالنظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة اللينة في المراحل الأولى من المرض، وعلى الرغم من أن تدهور الحالة يكون بطيئاً (على مدى 10 سنوات أو أكثر) إلا أن تركها دون علاج يستدعي عدسات مسامية تسمح بمرور الأوكسجين أو قد يحتاج المريض لإجراء عملية زرع القرنية في المراحل المتدهورة من المرض.

ما هي أعراض القرنية المخروطية؟

تختلف الأعراض وفقاً لحالة المريض ومراحل تطور المرض، فقد يعاني مريض القرنية المخروطية من أعراض مختلفة وتتقسم هذه الأعراض إلى:

  • الحساسية

ولأن المريض يرى الأشياء متكررة، فأن صورة الضوء تتكرر أيضاً مما يجعل العين حساسة للأضواء الساطعة والمتوهجة.

  • مشكلات فى النظارات أو العدسات الاصقة:

يعاني المريض من زيادة قصر النظر أو الأستجماتيزم مع تدهور الحالة لعدم قدرة العين على التركيزعلى نحو فعال، لذلك قد يحتاج المريض إلى تغيير النظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة أكثر من مرة لعدم قدرتها على تحسين الرؤية أو لأنها لا تتناسب مع شكل العين.

  • مشكلات فى الرؤية:

يعاني المريض من عدم وضوح الرؤية ، فقد يرى المريض على سبيل المثال القمر كأقمار متعددة أو قد يعاني المريض من تدهور مفاجئ في الرؤية بسبب ندوب القرنية.

Ramy Riad-Keratoconus

ما هي عوامل الخطر التي تزيد من فرص الإصابة بالقرنية المخروطية؟

لم يُكتشف السبب وراء القرنية المخروطية بعد، ولكن هناك بعض العوامل التي تزيد من خطر الإصابة بها، فهناك عوامل وراثية وهذا يعني زيادة فرص إصابة الشخص بالقرنية المخروطية في حالة إصابة أحد الأقارب بالمرض، كما أن فرك العين بعنف قد يؤدي إلى الإصابة بالقرنية المخروطية، أو قد تكون القرنية المخروطية مرض ثانوي أي نتيجة لأمراض أخرى مثل متلازمة داون (الطفل المنغولي) أو حساسية الأنف والربو.

ما هي مضاعفات القرنية المخروطية؟

قد يعاني المريض مما يعرف بانهيار البطانة الداخلية للقرنية، فتدخل السوائل الى القرنية مما يسبب تدهور مفاجئ للرؤية، وتظهر في بعض الحالات ندوب في القرنية والتي قد تتطلب جراحة زرع القرنية.

كيف يشخص طبيب العيون القرنية المخروطية؟

يستخدم طبيب العيون أجهزة لتقييم رؤية المريض، ويتضمن التشخيص مراجعة تاريخ المريض وعمل اختبارات لتقييم الرؤية وفحص شكل القرنية، وتشمل هذه الاختبارات

  • اختبار النظر:

يستخدم الطبيب مجموعة من العدسات المختلفة للتعرف على التركيبة الصحيحة للمريض

  • رسم القرنية بالكمبيوتر:

رسم القرنية بالكمبيوتر هو وسيلة سهلة لرسم خريطة لسطح القرنية، فخلال هذا الاختبار يضع الطبيب قطرات العين لدراسة عين المريض بطريقة أفضل ويطلب من المريض وضع رأسه على المكان المخصص لذلك لمدة 5 دقائق ثم يبدأ بتسجيل صور القرنية وقياس سُمك القرنية.

  • مقياس القرنية:

يقيس الطبيب انعكاس الضوء المركّز على القرنية ليحدد شكلها.

  • فحص أشعة الضوء الرفيع:

يطلب طبيب العيون من المريض النظر في جهاز خاص يوجّه شعاع الضوء إلى العين لكي يفحص تكوين العين بشكل أفضل ويحدد أي خلل بالعين مثل خلل في شكل القرنية والجزء الملون بالعين ويتأكد من عدم وجود أى عدوى أو التهابات بالعين، ثم يعيد خطوات الاختبار بعد وضع قطرة خاصة لتفقّد الجزء الخلفي من العين.

ما هي علاجات القرنية المخروطية؟

يختلف علاج القرنية المخروطية من مريض لآخر وفقاً لشدة المرض، فيمكن علاج الحالات البسيطة بالنظارات الطبية أو العدسات اللاصقة، ولكن قد يحتاج المريض عملية جراحية إذا كان هناك ندوب في القرنية أو صعوبة في ارتداء العدسات الاصقة.

Ramy Riad-Keratoconus

العدسات:

  • النظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة اللينة

قد يصف الطبيب نظارات أو عدسات لينة، ولكن قد يحتاج المريض لتغييرهم بشكل متكرر بسبب التغيرات المستمرة في شكل القرنية.

  • العدسات الصلبة:

تسمح هذه العدسات برؤية أفضل للحالات المتقدمة ويمكن تصميمها لتناسب قرنية المريض ولكن في بعض الأحيان تكون غير مريحة للمريض.

  • العدسات المهجنة:

يختلف هذا النوع من العدسات اللاصقة في أنه صلب في الوسط وليّن من الحواف، مما يزيد من راحة المريض عند ارتدائها.

  • عدسات أخرى:

نوع آخر من العدسات الاصقة هو العدسات ذات الوجهين، فتكون هذه العدسات صلبة من الوجه ولينة من الظهرلأنها عبارة عن عدسة صلبة فوق عدسة لينة، ويصفها الطبيب إذا كان المريض يواجه صعوبة في ارتداء العدسات الصلبة، ويوجد أيضاُ عدسات مسنودة على الجزء الأبيض من العين وتستخدم في الحالات المتقدمة مثل قرنية مشوهة الشكل، وينصح بزيارة الطبيب بانتظام للتأكد من قياسات هذه العدسات.

العمليات الجراحية

تحتاج بعض الحالات المتقدمة مثل وجود ندوب بالقرنية أو ترقق القرنية بشدة أو ضعف البصر إلى عملية جراحية، ويعتمد نوع الجراحة على مدى تأخر المرض

  • تركيبات القرنية:

يضع طبيب العيون نصفى دائرة بلاستيكية في القرنية لإزالة أو تقليل نتوءها وتحسين الرؤية، وهناك العديد من المزايا لهذه الجراحة، فهي تستعيد شكل القرنية الطبيعي إلى حد كبير، وتبطئ من تقدم المرض، وكذلك تقلل من احتمال حاجة المريض لزرع القرنية، كما تزيد من تحمل الشخص للعدسات الاصقة، ويمكن إزالة االتركيبات البلاستيكية إذا احتاج المريض لذلك، وعلى الرغم من المزايا إلا أن جراحة القرنية لها بعض المخاطر مثل العدوى أو التهاب العين.

  • زرع القرنية:

يقرر الطبيب الحاجة لعملية زرع القرنية إذا كان المريض يعاني من ترقق أو ندوب في القرنية، وهناك أنواع مختلفة من زرع القرنية.

– زرع القرنية الكاملة: يتضمن هذا النوع استبدال القرنية بكل طبقاتها

– ترقيع القرنية: يتضمن هذا النوع ازالة جزء من القرنية واستبداله بجزء من قرنية المتبرع

– الترقيع الجزئي لسطح القرنية : وتستخدم هذه العملية كبديل لزرع القرنية الكامل وتمتاز عنها بأنها تقلل من خطر رفض القرنية لأنها محاطة بغشاء خارجي وبطانة من قرنية المريض ولكن قد تؤثر هذه العملية في حدة الإبصار.

إذا كنت تعاني من أي تغيير في النظر مثل ضبابية الرؤية أو الحساسية للضوء، قم بزيارة طبيب العيون فوراُ لتحديد المشكلة والتعامل معها في أقرب وقت ممكن.

احجز موعد

What is Keratoconus?

Keratoconus happens as a result of progressive corneal thinning into a bulging cone shape instead of the normal dome shape. The distorted corneal shape hinders clear vision meaning that the patient suffers from blurry vision and light sensitivity. Usually, this condition occurs in both eyes. The age of onset ranges between 10 and 25, it is easily corrected by eye glasses or soft contact lenses if diagnosed at an early stage. The condition progresses slowly (over the course of 10 years or more). If left untreated reaching late stages a rigid gas permeable contact lens may be prescribed. In the more advanced stages the patient will need to be scheduled for a corneal transplant.

Ramy Riad-Keratoconus

What are the symptoms of Keratoconus?

Keeping in mind that symptoms vary according to the stage of the condition, a patient with Keratoconus will have
a bulging eye which will distort his vision and may cause sensitivity or problems with corrective eyewear.

  • Vision:

Patients reportedly suffer from blurred or distorted vision, for example the patient might see the moon as multiple moons and so on. In addition, the patient may experience sudden worsening of vision due to scarring of the cornea.

  • Sensitivity

Since patients see repeated versions of things, they might see duplicated light making them sensitive to bright light and glare.

  • Problems with corrective eyewear:

As the condition progresses, the patient suffers from increased nearsightedness or astigmatism where the eyes is unable to focus effectively, that’s why the patient may need to change his corrective eye wear frequently like eyeglasses or contacts because they are not as effective in improving vision because they do not fit properly anymore.

What are the risk factors of Keratoconus?

The cause of keratoconus is yet to be discovered, but there are some factors that increase the risk of developing keratoconus for example:

  • A genetic factor meaning that a person with a relative suffering from keratoconus is more likely to have the same condition himself.
  • Mechanical factor like rubbing the eyes in a vigorous manner.
  • Secondary to other diseases such as Down syndrome, hay fever and asthma.
Ramy Riad-Keratoconus

What are the complications of Keratoconus?

Patients may suffer from what is known as corneal burst which involves the breakdown of the inner lining of the cornea, allowing fluid to enter the cornea and causing sudden worsening of vision and in some cases scarring of the cornea which may require corneal transplant surgery.

How is Keratoconus diagnosed?

The process of diagnosis involves reviewing patient’s history and performing tests to asses the vision and the shape of the cornea. These tests include:

  • Keratometry:

The doctor measures the reflection of a circular light focused on the patient’s cornea in order to determine the shape of the cornea.

  • The slit lamp examination:

The ophthalmologist asks the patients to look into a device (a microscope) where a light beam is directed to the eye to allow the doctor to see the eye structures better and determine any pathology like signs of infection or any abnormality in the shape of the cornea and the iris. This process is done one more time after applying eyedrops to inspect the back of the eye.

  • Eye refraction test:

The eye doctor uses eye devices and charts to assess the patient’s vision. The doctor might use different combinations of lenses to recognize the right combination for the patient.

  • Computerized corneal mapping:

Computerized corneal mapping is a non-invasive way to map the curvature of the corneal surface. During this exam, the doctor applies eyedrops to better examine the patient’s eye and asks the patient to rest his head on the chin support for 5 minutes to record images of the cornea. This test also measures the corneal thickness.

What are the treatments of Keratoconus?

Treatment of keratoconus differs from one patient to another according to the severity and progression of the disease. Patients with mild-to-moderate Keratoconus can be treated with eyeglasses or contact lenses. However, if the cornea is scarred or the patients face difficulty in wearing contacts, the doctor will decide if a surgery is required.

Lenses

  • Eye glasses or soft contact lenses

The doctor might prescribe eye glasses or soft contact lenses. However, patients might need to change their prescription frequently because the cornea changes its shape continuously.

  • Hard contact lenses:

These lenses allow for a better vision for progressive cases, and they can be made to fit different corneas. However, they might be uncomfortable to wear.

  • Hybrid lenses:

This type of contact lenses differs in that it is hard in the middle but softer in the round edge. This increases comfort.

  • Piggyback lenses:

If patients find it too uncomfortable to wear the hard lenses, the doctor might prescribe a piggyback lens which is a hard contact lens on top of a soft one.

Ramy Riad-Keratoconus
  • Scleral lenses:

Scleral lenses are used in advanced cases where the shape of the cornea is highly deformed. They rest on the sclera (the white part of the eyeball) instead of the cornea itself. It covers the cornea without directly contacting it. Patients are advised to visit the doctor regularly to make sure these lenses fit perfectly.

Surgery

There are some advanced cases of keratoconus where a surgery might be needed, for example corneal scarring or extreme thinning of the cornea or poor vision. The type of surgery depends on the location of the bulging part of cornea and the severity of the condition./p>

  • Corneal inserts:

The ophthalmologist places intracorneal ring segments (tiny, clear plastic inserts in the shape of half circles) into the cornea to eliminate or decrease the protrusion and improve vision. There are many advantages to this surgery as it can restore a relatively normal corneal shape. It slows the progression of the disease as well as decreasing the chances of requiring a corneal transplantation. Also, it increases tolerance for contact lenses. This surgery is reversible in the sense that the intracorneal ring segments can be removed. On the other hand, corneal inserts surgery holds risks like injury or infection of the eye.

  • Cornea transplant:

– Patients with extreme corneal thinning or scarring will need corneal transplants. There are different types of corneal transplantation.

– Lamellar keratoplasty is the removal of only a part of the cornea and replacing it with a brand new donor part of cornea.

– Penetrating keratoplasty (PK) involves the full thickness of the cornea.

– The deep anterior lamellar keratoplasty (DALK) is an alternative to PK. It decreases the risk of graft rejection because the Descemet’s membrane and the endothelium are left intact in the patient’s eye. However, it may affect visual acuity.

If you are experiencing any change in your vision like blurry or duplicated vision or sensitivity to light, visit an ophthalmologist immediately to identify the problem and treat it as early as possible.

Book an appointment